Southern Miss Picked to Win C-USA Baseball Championship

CUSA LogoSouthern Miss the preseason favorite to win the 2019 Conference USA Championship. The Golden Eagles received eight of the 12 first-place votes among the league’s head coaches. USM won the 2018 C-USA regular-season and tournament championship.

Southern Miss two-way standout Matt Wallner was selected as preseason Player of the Year, while Rice right hander Matt Canterino, is the preseason Pitcher of the Year. Continue reading “Southern Miss Picked to Win C-USA Baseball Championship”


Preseason All-SEC Baseball Team Announced

sec-baseball-logoThe Arkansas Razorbacks placed four players on the 2019 Preseason First-Team All-SEC team released by the SEC Office on Thursday. Casey Martin, Heston Kjerstad, Matt Cronin and Dominic Fletcher were all first-team picks.

For the fourth consecutive year, two Preseason All-SEC Teams were selected by the SEC head coaches. Eleven schools were represented on the All-SEC teams with Arkansas, Georgia and Ole Miss leading the way with four selections. Vanderbilt  garnered three selections, while Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi State and Texas A&M had two. Arkansas claimed an SEC-best four first-team accolades. Continue reading “Preseason All-SEC Baseball Team Announced”

CWS Finals Game 3: OSU 5, Arkansas 0

2018 CWS LogoOn Wednesday, Arkansas came within a foul pop up of winning its first ever College World Series. The distance was far greater on Thursday night at TD Ameritrade Park.

Oregon State freshman right-hander Kevin Abel completely shut down the Razorbacks offense with a complete-game, two-hit shutout, leading the Beavers to 5-0 win and the school’s third national championship. Continue reading “CWS Finals Game 3: OSU 5, Arkansas 0”

CWS Finals Game 2: OSU 5, Arkansas 3

2018 CWS LogoMatt Cronin stood on the mound, his right hand raised in the air as three Arkansas defenders tacked the foul pop up of the bat of OSU’s Caydn Greiner. The Razorbacks were about to win their first College World Series championship.

But a funny thing happened on the way to the trophy presentation, the trio of Arkansas defenders – second baseman Carson Shaddy, first baseman Jared Gates and right fielder Eric Cole – watched as the ball dropped amidst the Fayetteville triangle for a foul ball rather than a series clinching out.

Greiner and the Beavers had new life, and OSU cashed in. Continue reading “CWS Finals Game 2: OSU 5, Arkansas 3”

CWS Finals Game 1: Arkansas 4, Oregon State 1

2018 CWS LogoArkansas scored all four runs in the fifth inning to defeat Oregon State 4-1 in game one of the 2018 College World Series Championship Series at TD Ameritrade Park on Omaha. The Razorbacks are won win away from the school’s first national championship in baseball.

Arkansas (48-19) sent 10 men to the plate in the decisive four-run fifth inning for the win. The Razorbacks had two singles, two walks and two hit batters in the inning. OSU also made on error. Continue reading “CWS Finals Game 1: Arkansas 4, Oregon State 1”

CWS Recaps (Saturday, June 23)

2018 CWS LogoThe College World Series Championship Series is set.

Oregon State strung together five straight two-out hits in the third inning, including a three-run home run by Tyler Malone to defeat Mississippi State 5-2 and advance to the CWS Finals against Arkansas. The best-of-three series begins Monday at 6 p.m. (CT). Continue reading “CWS Recaps (Saturday, June 23)”