SEC Implements Centralized Video Review For Conference Baseball Games

sec-baseball-logoBIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southeastern Conference will use a Centralized Video Review process for Conference baseball games beginning with the 2019 SEC season, becoming the first conference to use a centralized process as permitted by NCAA rules.

A Replay Official in the SEC Video Center, located in the Conference Office, will review plays in SEC vs. SEC games and will render decisions that will be communicated to the on-site umpire crew. The process is consistent with the system used by Major League Baseball. Continue reading “SEC Implements Centralized Video Review For Conference Baseball Games”


SEC Announces 2019 Baseball TV Sked

sec-baseball-logoThe 2019 SEC baseball television schedule was announced this week. Here is the listing of all regular season and SEC Tournament games.

via ESPN’s baseball slate includes more than 100 SEC games


sec-baseball-logoBIRMINGHAM, Ala. – With conference play set to begin this weekend in Southeastern Conference baseball, the SEC will expand the use of official replay review to include six additional plays as allowed by the NCAA and implement a new experimental challenge system for head coaches.

Under existing NCAA baseball replay rules, there are six umpire calls that may be reviewed.  At the SEC’s request, for the 2018 season the NCAA is permitting the SEC to review six additional calls on an experimental basis as well as utilize a head coach challenge system.  Because the rule is experimental, the additional calls and challenge system can only be used in conference games. Continue reading “NEW REPLAY RULES, CHALLENGE SYSTEM IN EFFECT FOR SEC BASEBALL GAMES”

Opening Day!

sec-baseball-logoWelcome back NCAA Division I College Baseball.  It was 234 days since Florida defeated LSU for the 2017 National Championship at the College World Series in Omaha.

St. Louis and Old Dominion kicked off the 2018 season in Kissimmee, Fla. Old Dominion’s Jim Fluke delivered the first pitch of the new season. St. Louis CF Matt Schwarz recorded the first hit (first inning single) and scored the first run (wild pitch) of the new year. ODU won the game 8-3.

Here is a look at some national headlines from our talented friends at

D1Baseball Notebook

Alabama head coach Brad Bohannon was among nine D1 head coaches to win their head coaching debut on Friday. Alabama took down Valparaiso 16-2 in Bohannon’s debut. The other first-time winners included Rob Vaughn (Maryland), Michael Federico (UL Monroe), Ryan Garko (Pacific), Skip Johnson (Oklahoma), Kerrick Jackson (Southern), Patrick Hallmark (Incarnate Word), Derek Matlock (UT Rio Grande Valley) and Billy Mohl (South Florida). Continue reading “Opening Day!”

2018 SEC Football Schedule Released

secfootballlogoThe Southeastern Conference today announced the football schedules for all 14 SEC schools for the 2018 season.

With 13 playing weekends, the 2018 schedule includes one open date for each team and conference contests scheduled each week beginning the second weekend of September.

Each SEC team will play eight conference football games to include six games against division opponents and two games against non-division opponents. One of the non-division opponents will be a permanent annual opponent and the other non-division opponent will rotate each year.

The season begins the weekend of September 1 with 14 games, including five neutral site games on opening weekend.

The 2018 season will culminate with the SEC Championship Game in Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta on Saturday, December 1. It will be the 27th edition of the game and the 25th in the city of Atlanta.

via SEC releases 2018 football schedule

SEC Co-Champions Play for CWS Title

The Southeastern Conference will bring home its 11th College World Series championship this week as 2017 SEC co-champions LSU and Florida meet in a best-of-three series at TD Ameritrade Park to determine the best team in college baseball this season.

The series begins tonight at 6 p.m. (CT).  The second game of the series will be Tuesday at 7 p.m. (CT).  A third game, if necessary will be Wednesday at 7 p.m. (CT). All three games will be televised by ESPN.

LSU (52-18) is seeking its seventh CWS championship. The Tigers have won national championships in 1991, 1993, 1996, 1997, 2000 and 2009.  LSU’s first five national championships were one game, winner-take-all championship games under legendary coach Skip Bertman. LSU defeated Texas in a best-of-three series in 2009 under head coach Paul Mainieri.

LSU has won four of five games at the 2017 CWS to reach the championship series. The Tigers have been outscored 23-21 while in Omaha. LSU opened with a thrilling 5-4 comeback win over Florida in its CWS opener. The Tigers were then bounced into the loser’s bracket after a 13-1 beat down by No. 1 Oregon State last Monday. LSU remained alive with a 7-4 win over Florida State.  The Tigers, behind the stellar pitching of Alex Lange and Caleb Gilbert, shut down the mighty OSU Beavers with 3-1 and 6-1 wins to advance to the finals.

Florida (50-19) is in the CWS finals for the third time and seeks its first CWS Championship. Florida lost in the best-of-three finals to Texas in 2005 and SEC Eastern Division rival South Carolina in 2011.

Florida opened the CWS 2-0 record after wins over TCU (3-0) and Louisville (5-1). After a 9-2 loss to TCU on Friday, the Gators rebounded with a 3-0 win over TCU to reach the CWS finals. The Gators starting pitchers have 42 strikeouts in four CWS starts. Alex Faedo had 22 total strikeouts in both 3-0 wins over TCU on June 18 and June 24. Brady Singer recorded nine strikeouts in the 5-1 win over Louisville on June 20. Jackson Kowar had 11 strikeouts in the loss to TCU on June 23. Continue reading “SEC Co-Champions Play for CWS Title”

SEC Baseball Recaps

Florida and LSU both picked up wins on Saturday and in the process earned a share of the 2017 SEC Championship. Florida rallied for a 6-4 win over Kentucky to clinch at least a share of the title. LSU waited out a three-hour and five-minute rain delay and completed a three-game sweep at Miss. State with an 11-7 win. The Tigers will share the league crown with the Gators.

LSU has captured a conference-leading 17 SEC Championships after winning its second league title in the last three years. LSU clinched the 2015 SEC Championship at Founders Park in Columbia, S.C.  LSU has also won 19 SEC Western Division titles.

Florida won its 14 SEC Championship, second only to LSU in league history.  The Gators own an SEC-best 23 SEC Eastern Division titles.

Here is the latest news and notes from Saturday’s SEC baseball action. Continue reading “SEC Baseball Recaps”